The current line-up is

Christofer Johnsson guitar
Christian Vidal guitar
Nalle Påhlsson bass
Johan Kullberg drums
Thomas Vikström vocals
Lori Lewis vocals


Therion was formed by Christofer Johnsson in 1987. The place was Upplands Väsby, a suburb to Stockholm in Sweden, known for breeding other famous artists like Europe, Candlemass and Yngwie Malmsteen and the first name of the band was Blitzkrieg, a name that fitted well to their noisy trash and heavy metal fusion they did at the time.

After searching for the band’s musical identity and even splitting up for a few months, the band was, by 1988, called Therion, Christofer had changed to playing guitar, a new bass player called Eric Gustafsson had been recruited and the band had become one of the Swedish pioneers in death metal.